Tawyna Wagner

@tawynawagnerphotography

January 19, 2021

The Business of Photography

I've been following Chris for quite some time now, and was thrilled when I saw this course become available. He shares his journey with a straightforward honesty that makes it easy to relate to. One of the things that draws me to his work is the intimate relationship he develops with the landscapes he is photographing. His passion for his work is practically tangible and it is powerfully motivating. As a single mother who still has a couple years til my children are adults, I focus more on portraits, since it makes for a flexible schedule. There are so many aspects of this course that I have been able to apply to the business of portraiture, as well as working towards what I eventually want to focus on, and that is what I appreciate most about this course. It's applicable all across the board and hits so many details that many other offerings on 'the business of photography' don't touch. I highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to make a business out of photography, no matter what you're shooting. I also recommend this course for anyone who has the desire to turn any passion into a career, as Chris conveys a truly encouraging work ethic and dedication. Many thanks to Wildist for making this available, and to Chris for putting such an effort into creating this course.

Tawyna Wagner

January 19, 2021

Timothy Grenard

January 6, 2021

Best photo business workshop out there

Honestly the amount of info Chris gives out in this workshop is huge and worth every penny. Production quality is 5-star as well, thank you!

Timothy Grenard

January 6, 2021

Сергей Токарев

December 16, 2020

Mixed feelings

A lot of nostalgia. I understand that this is part of a person's path, but I wanted to hear more practical points. But there were also inspiring parts about a personal project, I really liked it. Mixed feelings from the course, especially working with an agent and hiring employees.

Сергей Токарев

December 16, 2020

Joshua Wilson

November 25, 2020

Always Gives *Almost* Enough Detail

Although I'm a huge fan of Chris Burkard's work, I must say this workshop was unfortunately very disappointing - especially given the premium price that is charged. While each episode is quite long, it seems to fall into the trap of saying a lot while saying very little of substance. It's great to hear his story, but also feels as though the picture he offers is a very general "top-level view" through friendly conversation, as opposed to offering more concrete action steps by deflecting specific guidance with words like "you need to figure out what's right for you." I bought it because I don't even really have a good benchmark for "what's right for me." Unfortunately, whenever opportunities rise for Chris to offer a baseline for what we can start looking for, those moments fall through. This course absolutely does offer value - it's not a 1-star workshop by any means. However, if you're trying to decide where to invest $300, spend it on Finn Beales' Storytelling workshop, Alex's Adventure Photography Pro workshop, or Andrew Kearns' workshop on brands. There are MUCH better places to start or continue your investments though Wildist's courses.

Joshua Wilson

November 25, 2020

Nate Dodge

December 2, 2020

Learn From The Best

I'm a 25 year old photographer and filmmaker and have been in the industry for a couple years running my own media business. There are times every single week when I realize I don't have a clue what the hell I'm doing. Fake it till you make it! But just listening to Chris's experiences and advice as someone who has been in the industry much longer than I have is seriously invaluable information! This was a great investment in myself and if you're hesitant on dropping the cash for this workshop, don't be!

Nate Dodge

December 2, 2020

Kyle Cordova

December 3, 2020

Amazing Workshop

Great insight. Loved it all around

Kyle Cordova

December 3, 2020

Chris Doyle

@christopherdoylephoto

November 10, 2020

Gnar with Burkard

I really enjoyed hearing what Chris had to say. His story is one of hard work and commitment to craft. This course provided me with the insight I need to make strides within my own practice. Chris' easy going nature coupled with his passion for his work enables him to be an excellent educator from start to finish! I appreciate having the opportunity to lear from one of the best in the business!

Chris Doyle

November 10, 2020

Dylan Leslie

September 24, 2020

The Kickstart I Needed

I've already begun selling prints thanks to Chris's class. This class gives a certain insight that I know I will be checking back in on again and again. Couldn't recommend it enough for those who are just looking for that next level with their photography and how to get there.

Dylan Leslie

September 24, 2020

Jake Burchmore

November 16, 2020

From the Heart

Wow!! Thank you so much for this valuable insight explained from truth and transparency. I appreciated every bit of information and storytelling aspects of this workshop. Very unique and lively! This workshop has left a positive imprint on me, while also forcing me to think critically on the business aspect of my own photography/filmmaking projects. I am so glad I took notes and I will continue referring back to them as I continue to grow and face inevitable challenges into the future.

Jake Burchmore

November 16, 2020

Danny Skilton

@dannyjskilton

September 19, 2020

So much incredible info.

It's insane how much knowledge is packed into this one workshop. Shoutout to Chris for making all this info available. I'm super excited to start locking down a game plan for the next few years regarding my photography business.

Danny Skilton

September 19, 2020

Luis Carducci

October 27, 2020

Very valuable insight for future growth

I recommend this workshop for those photographers / filmmakers that are looking to get information about the behind the scenes of the business. This is not information about how to take pictures, but more about how to grow your business, and it's very good info.

Luis Carducci

October 27, 2020

Brittany App

@brittanyapp

September 19, 2020

I was expecting a bit more for my money

This is so hard. I really prefer not to leave negative reviews, but I after putting money down on this course, and watching it all the way though, I was disappointed. I've been a full-time professional photographer for almost 20 years. I love and respect Chris's work, and really admire him as a human being. He's a true inspiration. Because of all that, I hopped on this course right away, in hopes that there would be some valuable tools to add to my toolbox (especially during a time when my paid photography work has all-but-vanished due to the Pandemic). But the course felt quickly-put-together, a bit disorganized, repetitive, lacking in BTS-content, and I guess most importantly, I just didn't learn much. Perhaps the course would be better suited to brand new photographers. Perhaps I didn't understand that going into it. I apologize to Chris and his team for leaving a negative review, but the course, for me, felt like a poor investment of my money and time. I hope this feedback is helpful in some way. Sending love to you all out there.

Brittany App

September 19, 2020

Caleb Aschkynazo

August 23, 2020

Super Informative

Chris's knowledge is born from experience. He is an eloquent speaker as he gives you the whole picture without going on and on. Eloquent and straightforward, just like his work. I didn't like this course, I LOVED it!

Caleb Aschkynazo

August 23, 2020

David Johnston

@davidjohnstonphoto

August 3, 2020

Skeptical... but wow!

I’ll admit, I was a little skeptical about this course. I knew Chris Burkard’s story, and I have been a professional photographer for a couple of years making a good stream of income. How much more could I really learn? Apparently a lot. After watching the entire course I had so many new ideas about how to improve my photography business, when I expand, and even thoughts on getting representation. This course is beneficial if you’re brand new to photography and want to start a business, or if you need some new business ideas after you feel like things are a little stale. 5 stars all the way.

David Johnston

August 3, 2020

Lisa Schuth

@kctrailgirl

September 15, 2020

The Business of Photography with Chris Burkard

Interesting and valuable insight into the world of an exceptional professional photographer whose experience, knowledge, and actions are making a positive impact.

Lisa Schuth

September 15, 2020