Rose Conway

June 11, 2021

Lovely but lacking in substance

I adore Charly Savely and the artistry, kindness, and awareness she has brought to Wildlife photography but this workshop was unfortunately very lacking in substance and left much to be desired. I agree with the other one and two star reviews that this is a workshop for beginners and it is barely justifiable at the discounted price of $150 and I would be sorely disappointed if I had paid more. Charly's presentation is lovely but I truly wish it went more in depth. I felt like from the inspiration in finding your own style through the gear, safety, shooting in the field, and editing - it was all very surface level and it did not dive deep into any of the above. There was also a decent amount of time in each editing part that could have been skipped over (ie healing tool as Charly joked) and filled in with more useful information. I'll continue to admire Charly's work and cheer for her success but it is important that those putting money into this workshop know what they are paying for.

Rose Conway

June 11, 2021

Janelle Dransfield

February 12, 2021

Know what you're getting.

This workshop was really disappointing. I hesitated to leave a review because I wish so badly that I could leave a positive rating for the one solitary woman amongst the current 11 Wildist instructors. I also really love Charly and her photography! That being said, this workshop is for a beginner, and a beginner only. (It is currently advertised to aspiring and professional photographers, and priced at $299.) The majority of the workshop was spent covering pretty general conservation topics, sharing personal stories, and teaching very basic lightroom editing techniques. The only videos that were actually spent out in the field were 13 minutes total and more of a ride-along in Katmai specifically than they were actually providing info about wildlife photography that would be useful to a different environment. The only info given about how to plan/research was quite literally "know the animal you want to shoot and do research about it via google, facebook groups, and locals." As another student wrote in their review, this workshop needs to be advertised as a tutorial for achieving Charly Savely's gorgeous artistic editing style, rather than as a general wildlife photography workshop. If it had been, it would not have left so much to be desired. All love, genuinely. Just not at all what I thought I was paying for.

Janelle Dransfield

February 12, 2021

Gordon Armour

February 8, 2021

Least Favorite Workshop

I feel like this workshop did really teach wildlife photography at all. Charly is a great photographer and I love her style. This workshop did a great job of sharing Charly's editing style, theme, and color choices. It also shared her passion for conservation while touching on ethics of photographing animals. Though, I didn't think the way she shared her ethics were tactful at times. Honestly, I felt that this course could have spent more time in the field. For wildlife class, I want to see more planning, scouting, and capturing wildlife. Less so the editorial process. I think this course needs to be renamed to something that's more fitting like: "Charly's ethical and editorial process for wildlife photography"

Gordon Armour

February 8, 2021

Sarah Heaney

January 20, 2021

AMAZING!

I have been a huge fan of Charly for a while now so I was very excited for this workshop to come out. I learned so much about color palettes and the editing process! So much to learn through this course, it's great!!

Sarah Heaney

January 20, 2021

Caitlyn Houck

December 2, 2020

Loved it!

I've been searching for this exact workshop since I returned from Alaska in October. I've also recently taken up hunting/tracking and I find animal behavior completely fascinating. This was a great motivator to take my photography to the next level. Thanks so much Charly! The conservation section was a nice added bonus to the course. (Hooray no pebble mine!)

Caitlyn Houck

December 2, 2020

Joy Sheehan

December 6, 2020

Super fun and informative!

This was a really fun and informative workshop for anyone hoping to learn more about wildlife photography and editing! I got the most value from the editing sections. I've been editing my own shots in Lightroom and Photoshop for quite a few years now and still walked away with brand new tools and techniques I didn't even know existed in these programs! My boyfriend was also a park ranger at Katmai this past season and knew the guide and pilot featured haha So it was even more cool to see the park from Charly's eyes.

Joy Sheehan

December 6, 2020

Dr. Eickhoff

October 25, 2020

Entertaining and I learned something, but not worth the money for me.

Not to be critical about Charly Savely: it's not a bad workshop, but I feel it is totally mis-priced. I found it interesting to hear about Charly Savely, her development and how she managed to become who she is. I found the part about Wildlife Photography specifically rather thin, but it picked up a few interesting tips about editing pictures. Overall, I think it was worth watching the workshop. However, for 149$ including all rebates, I think one could barely justify the price. Had I paid the sticker price of 300$, I'd be really disappointed for what you get out of this. I have bought courses from photographers like David Yarrow, Elia Locardi or Jimmy Chin in the past and they have way more things to talk about or to teach (in depth and scope) for that price or less.

Dr. Eickhoff

October 25, 2020

Ryan Sheldon

October 27, 2020

Kinda bummed

Before I say anything more, I just gotta say that I am a big fan of Charly's work and respect all that she has accomplished. However, if I am being honest, I just really didn't get much out of this workshop. It was much more of a photography 101 and highly basic Lightroom editing. Also, there were a few mistakes in some of the basic camera settings terminology, as well as in Lightroom. And please don't think I am trying to nit-pick with that, but I am just simply saying that for $149 (and that was on sale) I expected a pro level workshop, and that's just not what this is. A fantastic beginner course that highlights a specific artist's editing style and approach, but that's about where I would leave it. Finally, it was quite short for the cost - definitely watchable in a few hour sitting. That would've been fine had the content been more fulfilling. Again, I mean no disrespect, as Charley has made a name for herself far beyond my dreams... and I have nothing but respect for that. But, it just fell way short of my expectations.

Ryan Sheldon

October 27, 2020

Sarah Mackey

November 19, 2020

Brilliant and inspiring workshop

This workshop was absolutely fantastic. I feel so lucky to have gotten an inside look at Charly's process and how she's developed her style. The videos following her on the photoshoot in Alaska are absolutely breathtaking, they gave me chills. The workshop was filled with so many great tips on how to be a mindful wildlife photographer as well, which is really important for our planet. After having finished this workshop, I definitely feel inspired.

Sarah Mackey

November 19, 2020

Justin Kibbel

October 24, 2020

No Rules In Photography

Charly has become one of my favorite wildlife photographers due to the emotion she depicts in her photos. This class was a very helpful guide in settling an internal debate I've been having in regards to realism vs emotion in my editing process. It helped cement the idea that rules are made to be broken and while realism and following guidelines may be what some photographers are seeking, there's just as much merit in doing what looks good to you and finding your unique style. I also appreciated the focus on importance of conservation in wildlife photography and respecting the world and animals you are shooting. We are a visitor in their world and often people forget that. If you are just getting started in photography or find yourself stuck in a rut, this workshop is a great resource. Charly showcases her go to gear, planning, safety, conservation, and gives a look into her editing process.

Justin Kibbel

October 24, 2020

Will Farrington

@wfarr

September 14, 2020

A refreshing take on wildflife photography!

Charly’s pragmatic approach to gear combined with an emphasis on developing an individual style and the field experience to know how to photograph wildlife safely and responsibly makes this a great resource for beginners and experts alike. I really enjoyed the emphasis on the ethics of wildlife photography. I feel like it’s an incredibly important topic. As folks pursue wildlife photography as a hobby or job, hopefully in part to raise awareness about how important it is to protect it, we need to make sure we’re encouraging practices that don’t negatively impact these animals, especially since they cannot advocate for themselves in the same way human subjects can. 

Will Farrington

September 14, 2020

James Kelly

@e.james.kelly

September 17, 2020

Breaks the mold

Often during online photography workshops, there is too much of a focus on technical proficiency instead of creating art based on personal style. Charly breaks that mold and does a fantastic job at sharing insights into finding your own style and editing images to match. It’s clear she is passionate about conservation and she really comes alive during the Shooting in The Field episodes. The post processing section alone is worth the cost of the workshop as there is something for every photography regardless of skill level.

James Kelly

September 17, 2020

Collin Yan

@yanjuincollin

September 9, 2020

More than just photography

As a landscape photographer I’ve never really looked in to wildlife photography but after going through Charly’s workshop, I’ve begun to question what my photography means and how it can impact the world around me. Her passion for wildlife and conservation really spoke to me and has made me think about the impact to the environment I make in my day to day life. Charly’s workshop was Impactful, informative, and essential to any photographer looking to help preserve our Earth and its wildlife.

Collin Yan

September 9, 2020